Michigan Nutrition and Dietetics Institute (MNDI) Scholarships

Scholarship Information

MNDI provides annual scholarships, which are determined by the MNDI Trustees and awarded in July each year. 

Scholarship Application Timeline

  • Application opens: February 15, 2021
  • Application closes: April 23, 2021, at 11:59 pm EST
  • Notification to scholarship winners: July 2021

Scholarship Application and Instructions

Scholarship applications, letters of recommendation, and transcripts must be submitted to mndischolarship@gmail.com by April 23, 2021 at 11:59pm. See the scholarship instructions for more details.

Scholarship Application
Scholarship Instructions


For scholarship application questions, email mndischolarship@gmail.com

Scholarships Available in 2021

We are excited to announce that eight (8) scholarships will be awarded in 2021, each worth $1500.

  • Michigan Nutrition and Dietetic Institute Scholarships (2)
  • Michigan Academy Past President Scholarship
  • Bernice E. Hagelshaw Scholarship
  • Michigan Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Scholarship 
  • Vera Thompson Scholarship: In addition to the criteria below, this scholarship will be awarded to a student or intern who identifies as Black or African American. This scholarship is supported by MiAND.
  • Betty Krauss Scholarship: In addition to the criteria below, applicants for this scholarship must meet two out of the following three criteria.
    1. Have been a member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics for a year
    2. Have worked with underprivileged individuals or communities
    3. Demonstrated leadership in a student dietetic association
  • Delphine Rutkowski Memorial Scholarship: In addition to the criteria below, applicants for this award must have demonstrated leadership in a student dietetic association. This scholarship is also available to CURRENT Dietetic Interns in an ACEND accredited program in Michigan (you MUST be enrolled in your internship at the time of application deadline).

Scholarship Eligibility

  • Participant in one of the following programs in Michigan:
    • Currently enrolled in an Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND) accredited Didactic Program in Dietetics (DPD)
    • Currently enrolled in an ACEND accredited Coordinated Program in Dietetics (CP)
    • Currently enrolled or accepted into an ACEND accredited Dietetic Internship (DI)
    • A current Registered Dietitian enrolled in a graduate program.
  • Show evidence of scholastic achievement throughout college
  • Demonstrate leadership in college and community activities
  • Have as a goal to become an active member of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics and Michigan Academy, as well as a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist
  • Not have previously been awarded the scholarship
  • Be at least a junior level student

Students that wish to apply must meet the following criteria to be eligible:

Applicants meeting one or more of the specific qualifications listed in the application or above are in no way guaranteed a scholarship.

Scholarship Recipients 2020

MNDI is proud to announce that eight dietetic students and interns have been awarded $1,500 scholarships, totaling $12,000. The MNDI Trustees commend these students and interns for their hard work, leadership, and dedication, and would like to express sincere gratitude to each person who donated to the scholarship fund in ongoing support of student education and excellence.

Check out the recipients’ accomplishments and bios in this PowerPoint file.

Riley Compagner
Michigan State University
MI Academy Past President Scholarship in honor of Stella Cash

Pablo Torres-Aguilar
Beaumont Health Internship
MNDI Scholarship

Madeline Workman
Western Michigan University
MNDI Scholarship

Aria Grabowski
University of Michigan
MI Academy Memorial Scholarship

Hunter Harrison-Wojcik
Central Michigan University
MI Academy Memorial Scholarship

Betsy Ford
University of Michigan
Sue Bosserd Scholarship

Alison Cooney
Grand Valley State University
Bernice E. Hagelshaw Scholarship

Ava Daly
Western Michigan University
Delphine Rutkowski Memorial Scholarship