Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

The MiAND DEI Committee will actively seek out and implement effective strategies to increase diversity, equity, and inclusion within the Michigan dietetics profession and among the people we serve, including Black/African Americans, Indigenous, People of Color (BIPOC) and other disenfranchised groups.

Michigan Academy Inclusion Statement

Important Information

DEI Sign-Up

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

New MNDI Scholarship – Vera Thompson Scholarship

In addition to the criteria found at the link below, this scholarship will be awarded ($1500.00) to a student or intern who identifies as Black or African American. This scholarship is supported by MiAND. Applications for this and other scholarships are now begin accepted on our MNDI Scholarship page. Applications are due April 23, 2021.

Advancing Diversity in Dietetics Scholarship

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Foundation’s Advancing Diversity in Dietetics Scholarship was established to support the educational advancement of aspiring registered dietitian nutritionists of diverse backgrounds or cultures. The scholarship aims to increase racial and ethnic diversity in the dietetics field to better reflect diverse communities served, and to address underrepresentation and financial need.

Click the link above for complete details and how to apply. The deadline is May 3, 2021 at 5 p.m. (Central time).

Check back for volunteer opportunities.

The DEI Committee invites you to participate in a monthly book club. We will be reading about topics including implicit bias, systemic racism, and health disparities, and meeting monthly to discuss. Join us as we dig deeper into understanding these challenging and complex issues. Together, we can empower each other to be more culturally competent and better serve the populations we care for.

Find out more information and sign-up here.

DEI Committee

  • MiAND Diversity and Inclusion Liaison – Leatta Byrd
  • PR/Media – Lexi Martoia
  • Grant Developer – Libby MacQuillan
  • Secretary – Janice Kwan
  • Legislative Rep – Beth Thayer
  • Student Liaison – Alex Ostrander
  • Intern Liaison – Samantha Walker
  • Virtual Book Club Hosts – Elizabeth Gorney & Lauren Hunt
  • Beverly Cameron
  • Sara Harmon
  • Lauren Hunt
  • Lynette Maxey
  • Julie Poole
  • Kim Snodgrass
  • Lorraine Weatherspoon
  • Caroline Webber
  • Ashley Widdis